Skip to main content

Topic: Beta 7 release (01-09-2015) (Read 5147 times)

  • Emdek
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Moderator
Beta 7 release (01-09-2015)
Most important changes:

  • added support for customizing context menu;

  • added Opera notes import;

  • added initial support for auto updates;

  • added dialog allowing to decide what to do with downloaded file;

  • MDI actions are now enabled by default;

  • multiple fixes and improvements for MacOS X;

  • allow to specify default arguments using arguments.txt;

  • various minor fixes and improvements.



Known issues:

  • under Windows downloading files might lead to crash;

  • restoring existing session from previous releases might lead to non maximized tabs, you can use Maximize All to maximize them;

  • older Qt versions might cause crashes while rendering tab thumbnails, as workaround you can set TabBar/EnablePreviews to false in about:config.

Nadszedł już czas, najwyższy czas, nienawiść zniszczyć w sobie.
The time has come, the high time, to destroy hatred in oneself.

  • ersi
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Re: Beta 7 release (01-09-2015)
Reply #25

MDI is great, but it should be able to maximize at startup and remember the state/size of tabs when Continue from last time is selected. I guess it already does the latter thing.

Do you have that issue with this beta / master? Previously state of tabs wasn't saved when MDI wasn't enabled so they were restored without being maximized, tabs with delayed loading also had similar issue.

No. The issue seems to have disappeared for me recently.


I can't remember it either right now, but the release notes for Beta 7 say: "MDI actions are now enabled by default."

Yeah, now there is no need to enable MDI in explicit way, workspace is created when it is needed.

But what setting in about:config was it that enabled MDI?

  • Emdek
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Moderator
Re: Beta 7 release (01-09-2015)
Reply #26
But what setting in about:config was it that enabled MDI?

AFAIR it was Interface/EnableMdi.
Nadszedł już czas, najwyższy czas, nienawiść zniszczyć w sobie.
The time has come, the high time, to destroy hatred in oneself.

  • ersi
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Re: Beta 7 release (01-09-2015)
Reply #27

But what setting in about:config was it that enabled MDI?

AFAIR it was Interface/EnableMdi.

This setting is not there anymore, and I cannot find any other that could have done it. So, there's no way anymore to disable MDI, looks like.

By contrast, Opera had a setting opera:config#UserPrefs|SingleWindowBrowsing and there's a setting in Opera's configuration dialog Advanced -> Tabs -> Additional tab options -> Open windows instead of tabs, so the users who prefer lots-of-windows a la IE instead of tabs-neatly-in-a-single-window kind of interaface, they can have it.

Any way to have it both ways?

  • krake
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Re: Beta 7 release (01-09-2015)
Reply #28

We can expose stuff that is exposed by backend, and it appears that Blink is going to remove more options than add...

Yeah, Blink the engine for browsers to be controlled by content providers and not the user. ;)


Maybe Servo will be more suitable for power users. ;-)

I wouldn't hold my breath on that.
Look at the path Mozilla is going lately. Besides, Samsung is unlikely to tolerate a browser that is really controlled by the user...


After that, I can maximize the window but in this case [F12] won't display the "Quick Pref" menu.

Odd, I can't reproduce that, maybe it's something Windows specific.

Since you can't reproduce it, it must be something Windows specific.
I assume that the command gets frozen. If I wait a few minutes then [F12] starts to work.

Whatever, is there a way to open maximized a local HTML-file as home page in Otter?
Can you do it on Linux?

  • Emdek
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Moderator
Re: Beta 7 release (01-09-2015)
Reply #29
@krake, I've fixed some issues that could cause that behavior when mixing some specific values in settings, fix will be available in weekly #90.
Nadszedł już czas, najwyższy czas, nienawiść zniszczyć w sobie.
The time has come, the high time, to destroy hatred in oneself.

  • krake
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Re: Beta 7 release (01-09-2015)
Reply #30

@krake, I've fixed some issues that could cause that behavior when mixing some specific values in settings, fix will be available in weekly #90.

The issue got fixed!!!
The homepage which I've set up as startpage was meant to be a replacement for speed dial.
However I gave up this method because it also causes other problems like frequent freezes of the scroll bar.
I'm tesing now with the built-in speed dial and the freezes are gone. (I hope forever :) )
Edit: The scroll bar still happens to freeze. :(
===============================
Two question about the speed dial.
Is it possible to remove the titles from the thumbs?
I'd like to use my custom thumbs and avoid that the thumbs get processed/stretched (unnecessary waste) each time.
In case it's not possible, never mind. There are more important things to work on for now. :)
The second question - is alpha transparency supported?
I'm asking because the created thumbs are not 32bit.
  • Last Edit: 2015-09-23, 16:13:40 by krake

  • Emdek
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Moderator
Re: Beta 7 release (01-09-2015)
Reply #31
Edit: The scroll bar still happens to freeze.

Could you please provide some more details?

Is it possible to remove the titles from the thumbs?

Right now you can only set their titles to empty string, but that won't eliminate blank row under thumbnail.
You can use custom images by replacing files in thumbnails/ in profile directory (you can get path using otter-browser.exe --report), but that shouldn't affect that space.

The second question - is alpha transparency supported?
I'm asking because the created thumbs are not 32bit.

Thumbnails are ordinary PNG files, so transparency should work after setting custom ones.
Nadszedł już czas, najwyższy czas, nienawiść zniszczyć w sobie.
The time has come, the high time, to destroy hatred in oneself.

  • krake
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Re: Beta 7 release (01-09-2015)
Reply #32

Edit: The scroll bar still happens to freeze.

Could you please provide some more details?

I wish I could.
Now, sometimes it happens after a few minutes, other times like today it doesn't happen even during an one hour session. There is absolute no pattern I can observe.
When the scrollbar freezes, I can't move the slider with the mouse. Moving it with the key works. Closing the tab solves the freeze.
It doesn't seem to be hardware related. I have a quad-core CPU and tons of free RAM at the time of the freezing. The mouse I'm using is old but it works fine for all other browsers. As for the browser configuration, it's set up for private mode and with scripting/cookies disabled.
What irks me most is that it looks like I'm the only user with this issue. As long as I'm the only one, it might be something specific on my side - whatever that might be. :(
=========================================
Not important, just showing you what I meant:



The same thumbs showing up in another browser and in Otter (below).
High and width are set exactly in Otter's config. The resulting stretched thumbs are because of the title sequence.
BTW, the original thumbs created by Otter look stretched as well.
As for alpha-transparency, it seems that it is not supported within the start page.
Edit: The above statement is not entirely correct. It's ony the white layer which interferes.
  • Last Edit: 2015-09-25, 08:22:52 by krake

  • Emdek
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Moderator
Re: Beta 7 release (01-09-2015)
Reply #33
@krake, these details might be sufficient after all. ;-)
According to your description it might be issue with mouse handling on start page.
Any chance that it was triggered by accidental right mouse button click while moving cursor?

Uhm, right, that background is the culprit.
I guess that the best solution is to allow to configure colors:

  • main background (simply setting a color would be slightly more efficient than achieving that using image with just a single pixel ;-));

  • tile background;

  • tile text;

  • tile text background.



Or modify start page so we could at least allow to customize it using CSS (so it would allow control on stuff like border radius, spacing etc.).

I'll investigate both options, which one will be more feasible (I'm preferring CSS approach).
Nadszedł już czas, najwyższy czas, nienawiść zniszczyć w sobie.
The time has come, the high time, to destroy hatred in oneself.

  • krake
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Re: Beta 7 release (01-09-2015)
Reply #34

According to your description it might be issue with mouse handling on start page.

To be more precize, on pages which I've added to Otter's speed dial.
For now I only use Otter's speed dial/start page for testing. I'll add bookmarks later.
No freezes yesterday evening, no freeze today. Maybe the issue went away or it will still occur very sporadic.
IMHO it makes little sense to waste your time investigating this ghost-issue as it is for now.


Any chance that it was triggered by accidental right mouse button click while moving cursor?

Maybe, I can't tell for sure anymore. :)
BTW, I've tried now to freeze the scrollbar by intentional right mouse button click while moving the cursor.
No way. Only a scrollbar related menu pops up but no freeze. :)


I'll investigate both options, which one will be more feasible (I'm preferring CSS approach).

Whatever your choice will be, it will be fine for me.
IMHO it would be preferable maybe if even average users can easily deal with it.
Also handy if one could navigate back to speed dial as you can in Opera (Presto).
Of course all these enhancements are low priority since there are so many important things to do.

Speaking of navigation:
If I open a few sites in the same tab, navigation back gets stucked. If I open different subdomains of the same main page, then navigation works.(private mode)
Anyway, it looks like navigation back/forward is not finished yet since the visited sites don't show up in the drop-down menus of the back/forward arrows.

  • Emdek
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Moderator
Re: Beta 7 release (01-09-2015)
Reply #35
Anyway, it looks like navigation back/forward is not finished yet since the visited sites don't show up in the drop-down menus of the back/forward arrows.

Odd, works for me also under Windows.
Note that you need to use long press to get menus.

BTW, there is hight chance that there will be v2 packages today. ;-)
Nadszedł już czas, najwyższy czas, nienawiść zniszczyć w sobie.
The time has come, the high time, to destroy hatred in oneself.

  • krake
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Re: Beta 7 release (01-09-2015)
Reply #36

Note that you need to use long press to get menus.

Uff! OK, it works now. :)