Skip to main content

Topic: Random Chat (Read 133345 times)

Random Chat
For all of us devotees of Opera's Random Chat thread...Pop and and share with the group!

First let me say many thanks to Frenzie for providing us with this space to continue meeting and chatting with all of the old friends from Opera, and maybe make some new ones.

I get the feeling we're going gain a whole new appreciation for the Hebrews of old wandering the desert...hehehe...
  • Last Edit: 2013-12-03, 15:06:42 by Luxor
You are the result of 3.8 billion years of evolutionary success.
Act like it!

  • Frenzie
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Administrator
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1725
You have an electric toothbrush that has Bluetooth.
Is that actually a thing? If so, why, how, what?

  • ersi
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1726
You have an electric toothbrush that has Bluetooth.
Is that actually a thing? If so, why, how, what?
Google turned up this https://oralb.com/en-us/product-collections/bluetooth but I'm still not sure if it's a thing.

  • Luxor
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1727
I decided to google 'cooked ostrich egg' and I was surprised there are a bunch of articles on it. I guess some people like to eat those giant egg  :sherlock:
There's some strange folk out there.   :rolleyes:

Make that 5 decks total. But only the latest one that I use, obviously  :)
My wife used to have some but she got rid of them a while ago. Never saw the appeal in them myself. :eyes:
The start and end to every story is the same. But what comes in between you have yourself to blame.

  • Luxor
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1728
Is that actually a thing? If so, why, how, what?
Yes it is, which ersi has kindly included a link to.
My wife was looking to buy an electric toothbrush earlier in the year and she told me about it having Bluetooth. I really thought she was pulling my leg.  :doh:
The start and end to every story is the same. But what comes in between you have yourself to blame.

  • Syav
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1729
So the electric Oral-B toothbrush connects to your phone and will send you a message if you're brushing too hard. :lol: :D
  • Last Edit: 2017-09-23, 03:13:32 by Syav

  • Luxor
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1730
That seems about it. If ever a product didn't need an extra function, it's that.  :whistle:
The start and end to every story is the same. But what comes in between you have yourself to blame.

  • Frenzie
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Administrator
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1731
I'm sure it's very useful if you have leprosy. :)

  • Syav
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1732
I saw a lady reading her email from her wrist watch today. I think the reading screen on the watch is too tiny.

  • Luxor
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1733
I think the reading screen on the watch is too tiny.
I wouldn't think it's good for your eyes if you were to do it regularly.  :eyes:
The start and end to every story is the same. But what comes in between you have yourself to blame.

  • Luxor
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1734
You've never played a helicopter simulator on your computer.

This is the helicopter simulation I used to play. Doesn't look that great now, but it was state of the art in it's day.  :D

AMIGA Gunship 2000 by Microprose
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VMXL6rCltzY
The start and end to every story is the same. But what comes in between you have yourself to blame.

  • Frenzie
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Administrator
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1735
Back in '96 or so I played a bit of the demo for Apache Longbow.


  • Syav
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1736
Quote from: Luxor
AMIGA Gunship 2000 by Microprose

I don't have that one, but I know Microprose was one of best during that time. I had one of the best F1 simulation by Microprose. :yes:

  • Syav
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1737
Back in '96 or so I played a bit of the demo for Apache Longbow.

I have the full version of Apache Longbow and Longbow 2 :yes: The missions are long and not so much full of action like a common video game, but the flight training is very detailed with realistic controls :up:

  • Luxor
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1738
I don't have that one, but I know Microprose was one of best during that time
They were the leading publisher of simulation games then, in the UK at least. Not sure if they were as big in the rest of the world.
Every game seemed to come on about a dozen floppies, totally unplayable unless you were lucky enough to own a hard drive, as you were forever swapping disks.  :no:

I had one of the best F1 simulation by Microprose.  :yes:
I had the first one "Formula One Grand Prix" (or "World Circuit" in the USA) and it was brilliant. Many hours spent playing that.  :yes:
The start and end to every story is the same. But what comes in between you have yourself to blame.

  • Luxor
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1739
Back in '96 or so I played a bit of the demo for Apache Longbow.
I played the demo of that too as it was included on a magazine disk. Never got round to buying it though.
The start and end to every story is the same. But what comes in between you have yourself to blame.

  • Syav
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1740
Wow I didn't have any games in floppies. The F1 from Micropose that I have is called Grand Prix 2, for Win95. It is in 2D/3D but the gameplay is way better than a couple of 3D F1 racing that I bought several years later. Depending on the circuit, I have to adjust aerodynamics of my car for more speed or better traction in order to win.   I can also adjust the gear ratio for faster acceleration or higher top speed. Here's a clip of Grand Prix 2:

  • Luxor
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1741
The F1 from Micropose that I have is called Grand Prix 2
That was the follow-up to "Formula One Grand Prix", programmed by the same guy. Better graphics than the Amiga original, but gameplay wise a carbon copy of the first one. Amiga owners were able to mod the original, so we had it looking much like that version after doing so.  :yes:
The start and end to every story is the same. But what comes in between you have yourself to blame.

  • Syav
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1742
Quote from: Luxor
That was the follow-up to "Formula One Grand Prix", programmed by the same guy.
I noticed at the end of that Grand Prix 2 video clip it showed a McLaren, but McLaren didn't exist on my Grand Prx 2. :confused: Also, my Grand Prix had Michael Shcumacher driving a Benneton :lol:

  • Luxor
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1743
I noticed at the end of that Grand Prix 2 video clip it showed a McLaren, but McLaren didn't exist on my Grand Prx 2.  :confused:
Someone used a mod on the original probably, as I think you could till do that in that version.
The start and end to every story is the same. But what comes in between you have yourself to blame.

  • Syav
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1744
Quote from: Luxor
Someone used a mod on the original probably, as I think you could till do that in that version.
Oh yeah, probably. Microprose might've had an update that included Mclaren, that I didn't know about. 

  • Luxor
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1745
Oh yeah, probably. Microprose might've had an update that included Mclaren, that I didn't know about.
None of the mods came from Microprose, I don't think they even encouraged it. There was quite a community at the time though with some really dedicated folk doing it. They could change everything, from the car livery, to helmets and even the steering wheels.
The start and end to every story is the same. But what comes in between you have yourself to blame.

  • Frenzie
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Administrator
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1746
I borrowed one of those F1 games from the library once out of idle curiosity and I could only get a playable framerate out of it by having it draw a more limited number of pixels on the screen. I forget what it was called.

A bit maybe like how television works theoretically (scan lines) except it was just there as black bars on the screen.

  • Luxor
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1747
A bit maybe like how television works theoretically (scan lines) except it was just there as black bars on the screen.
Pretty much unplayable then?
I had a racing game once where It would only run in something roughly the size of a postage stamp on the screen.  :cry:
The start and end to every story is the same. But what comes in between you have yourself to blame.

  • Syav
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1748
Quote from: Luxor
Pretty much unplayable then?
I used to be able to play Civilization 3 on my laptop. After my laptop was down and I had to reset it to factory default and reinstall Windows, my Civilization 3 no longer works and only shows a 'Font error' message. :confused:

  • Luxor
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
Re: Random Chat
Reply #1749
Civilization 3 no longer works and only shows a 'Font error' message.  :confused:
That's a really helpful error report isn't it.  :faint:
The start and end to every story is the same. But what comes in between you have yourself to blame.