Skip to main content

Topic: bugs (Read 64481 times)

  • exley
  • [*][*][*]
bugs
okay I finnaly duped Pale Moon and replaced it with Otter
as this lil browser is so fast in script loadings and leaves such little memory footprint

BUT, i stumbled upon 1 problem, yeah yeah i know its hated, but on facebook
it always gives me "chat disconnected, check your internet connection", which shouldn't happen
so my question is WHY and how to enable it ?
i don't have anything blocking scripts in otter nor nothing under content blocking
i only use "do not track"

and 1 obvious bug,
otter doesn't remember default zoom level
mine is set to 130% in settings, but it always reverts to 100%

I'm using portable version 0.9.04 #49
  • Last Edit: 2015-01-31, 02:50:12 by exley

  • resbro
  • [*]
Re: Window size after restart
Reply #75

Window size after restart is only restored when "Startup behavior: Continue previous session" ist set, the other options result in a tiny window in the middle of the screen, just like described in github issue #691".


This sounds the same as issue 607(which was closed because) issue 597 was reported first. Been like that for a while at least in windows.  :cheers:

  • exley
  • [*][*][*]
Re: bugs
Reply #76
one still wonders when will flash plugin for windows os be fixed :P

  • Emdek
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Moderator
Re: bugs
Reply #77
Nadszedł już czas, najwyższy czas, nienawiść zniszczyć w sobie.
The time has come, the high time, to destroy hatred in oneself.

  • fernandel
  • [*]
Re: Window size after restart
Reply #78


Window size after restart is only restored when "Startup behavior: Continue previous session" ist set, the other options result in a tiny window in the middle of the screen, just like described in github issue #691".


This sounds the same as issue 607(which was closed because) issue 597 was reported first. Been like that for a while at least in windows.  :cheers:


On my otter beta 4 I have in Startup - Show empty page and when I start Otter it open in full size (full display) and cannot remember my last size but zoom works.
And I have the problem with showing reddbuble pictures still  :doh:

  • resbro
  • [*]
Re: bugs
Reply #79
 yeah, I'm hoping the fix for issue 691 will be the answer to these other two issues.(597 & 607) I'll have to wait til tuesday to find out. :cheers:

  • exley
  • [*][*][*]
Re: bugs
Reply #80

@exley, this one?
https://bugreports.qt.io/browse/QTBUG-44401


no :(
any flash plugin that, at least I activate (movie clip), starts to play
but can't use any of embedded controls
pause, scene/duration bar, sound toggle, screen size toggle...
nothing can be "used" as Otter still registers it as "just clicked on plugin" and it only pauses
the clip, also on some sites, the plugin won't even activate at all (and yes they are flash too)

  • Emdek
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Moderator
Re: bugs
Reply #81
@fernandel, you should switch to weeklies, they are based on the same branch and are usually stable enough, for sure they have more fixes and improvements. ;-)

@exley, could you please give a link for such video clip which has issues?
Are you using 32 bit build on 32 bit Windows?
Nadszedł już czas, najwyższy czas, nienawiść zniszczyć w sobie.
The time has come, the high time, to destroy hatred in oneself.

  • exley
  • [*][*][*]
Re: bugs
Reply #82
Emdek, any youtube video, any flash embeded video on shitty facebook or any other site

yes 32bit version on 32bit windows

  • Emdek
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Moderator
Re: bugs
Reply #83
@exley, works fine for me (Windows 7 32 bit), which version of flash player are you using?
Nadszedł już czas, najwyższy czas, nienawiść zniszczyć w sobie.
The time has come, the high time, to destroy hatred in oneself.

  • exley
  • [*][*][*]
Re: bugs
Reply #84
13.0.0.182 (its still on extended support) :P

  • Emdek
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Moderator
Re: bugs
Reply #85
@exley, I'm using 16.0.
I've created small testing binary, download it, unpack and place in the same folder as otter-browser.exe.
You will need to input full URL (including http://) and press Enter.
Please check if the same issue can be reproduced.
Nadszedł już czas, najwyższy czas, nienawiść zniszczyć w sobie.
The time has come, the high time, to destroy hatred in oneself.

  • exley
  • [*][*][*]
Re: bugs
Reply #86
well I must play ignorance on this one, as I don't know how to "apply" this file
as it is just "file", no extension, yet when I added .exe to it it launches some console
that cannot be inputed nothing into, so i removed it, extracted back ordinary "test file"
ran Otter and inputed a youtube clip address and it still has same symptoms

no control within flash plugin is clickable/controlable, all Otter does is consider
a click as click onto plugin thus pausing the video

  • Pref
  • [*]
Re: bugs
Reply #87

@Pref, F4 might be some kind of focus issue (this would explain why it happens only sometimes).

That crash looks interesting, most likely something to be reported upstream, as long as it is reproducible.


Hi Emdek,
F4 now works fine, v. 61 Win 8 x64.
LinkedIn - still same sh. :) But now there is an improvement: the system manages to inform that it lacks memory (8GB), and needs to close Otter.
Also, if we are at the bugs, v. 61 is drastically slow on anything I checked, however on certain news portals it slower, on the other ones much more. And when I enter the website again loading is faster (of course). Like I was waiting 20 seconds to load wp.pl. FF works fine BTW on these websites.
  • Last Edit: 2015-03-06, 08:34:54 by Pref

  • fernandel
  • [*]
Re: bugs
Reply #88

@fernandel, you should switch to weeklies, they are based on the same branch and are usually stable enough, for sure they have more fixes and improvements. ;-)


I did build and install the last weekly one and I have the same problems:
redbubble.com/people/lumiwa
and the browser all the time start full size.


  • exley
  • [*][*][*]
Re: bugs
Reply #89
Emdek :)

seems that Otter has problems with "Mega" service/hosting
every time download reaches 100%, application crashes:
(win7 32bit)

Quote

  Problem Event Name:   APPCRASH
  Application Name:   otter-browser.exe
  Application Version:   0.9.0.5
  Application Timestamp:   04089338
  Fault Module Name:   libstdc++-6.dll
  Fault Module Version:   0.0.0.0
  Fault Module Timestamp:   00000000
  Exception Code:   40000015
  Exception Offset:   0001f25d
  OS Version:   6.1.7600.2.1.0.256.48
  Locale ID:   1050
  Additional Information 1:   a02e
  Additional Information 2:   a02e900c4b4156c302b1b7e031f0e92b
  Additional Information 3:   922e
  Additional Information 4:   922ed150223e93900d9f8c057ee0d60d

  • Emdek
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Moderator
Re: bugs
Reply #90
@exley, that archive should contain test.exe, it should be unpacked to the same directory as otter-browser.exe.

@Pref, maybe it's related to this one:
https://bugreports.qt.io/browse/QTBUG-44523
Apparently there is some new memory leak in QtWebKit, at least under Windows. :-/

@fernandel, which window manager are you using?

seems that Otter has problems with "Mega" service/hosting

Any chance that it is also some kind of memory leak?
Nadszedł już czas, najwyższy czas, nienawiść zniszczyć w sobie.
The time has come, the high time, to destroy hatred in oneself.

  • fernandel
  • [*]
Re: bugs
Reply #91

@fernandel, which window manager are you using?

I use KDE 4.14.3...Firefox, Xombrero, Opera and I did try Midori don't have a problem. I will install Fluxbox and try again.

I am back :)
I did try fluxbox and lumina and result is the same.
  • Last Edit: 2015-03-06, 21:31:31 by fernandel

  • Emdek
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Moderator
Re: bugs
Reply #92
@fernandel, are you using custom or private session?
Nadszedł już czas, najwyższy czas, nienawiść zniszczyć w sobie.
The time has come, the high time, to destroy hatred in oneself.

  • exley
  • [*][*][*]
Re: bugs
Reply #93
ok Emdek, results are back :P

for MEGA, it might be some sort of issue but internally,
example:

Otter: a 190 MB file for download, ate 360 MB RAM at 100% CPU usage, crashed
Pale Moon: same file, ate over 450 MB RAM at 5% CPU usage, doesn't crash, downloads ok
----
as for test file, i renamed it to .exe, ran youtube video, same story
any click on plugin control just acts as click on plugin, thus pausing video
still unusable

  • fernandel
  • [*]
Re: bugs
Reply #94

@fernandel, are you using custom or private session?


I don't know. I don't have any option to choose private or custom. I think it is custom because I change some settings but nothing more for sure what I have in Firefox for example or xombrero. In blocking I have "Easy list" but it doesn't works if I choose something or no.

  • py-thon
  • [*][*]
Re: bugs
Reply #95
I just noticed that on my system (Debian 64 bit) Google Earth won't start as long as Otter is running. As soon as Otter is closed Google Earth can be started normally and then Otter can be started as well. I didn't find anything about this in syslog.
I still use Beta 4 as there are no newer deb-packages available :worried:
Maybe someone could check whether this is still an issue with newer versions.

  • exley
  • [*][*][*]
Re: bugs
Reply #96
mine works
Google Earth 7.1.2.2041 // using direct x
latest otter, 32bit

  • Emdek
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Moderator
Re: bugs
Reply #97
@exley, then that Flash plugin issue is an upstream bug, any chance to test it using new version?
Is it possible to reproduce that MEGA issue using test.exe?

@fernandel, it seems that you are using default session, then it appears to be some kind of issue with restoring window state and geometry.

@py-thon, is there any debug output or backtrace from Google Earth?
Maybe it's related to this issue?
http://code.google.com/p/earth-issues/issues/detail?id=1477
Nadszedł już czas, najwyższy czas, nienawiść zniszczyć w sobie.
The time has come, the high time, to destroy hatred in oneself.

  • py-thon
  • [*][*]
Re: bugs
Reply #98
@emdek
There was no corresponding crashlog. But I found ~/.googleearth/instance-running-lock which caja claimed to be a defect link/shortcut/symlink (no idea what its correct name in english is). After deleting this google earth started normally with otter already running and produced a new obviously working ~/.googleearth/instance-running-lock .

  • exley
  • [*][*][*]
Re: bugs
Reply #99
emdek, i'll send you PM about something
also there is small annoying bug, dunno if its reported anywhere

if you copy a link address from another browser or some text editor ... don't matter
when you open Otter for 1st time, and do rclick on addr-bar the option "paste & go" is enabled
but if you open new tab, or do rclick over existing address in already opened tab
the option is disabled, you can only "paste"
BUT
if you close Otter, and open it again (empty), the "paste & go" option is again Enabled